Sanaa Rants: I Don’t Want To Be Known As A Black Blogger!

That’s right, you heard me! I don’t want to be known as an African American or black blogger!

I Don't Want To Be Known As A Black Blogger - Sanaa Brooks

I want to be known as Sanaa Brooks, a lifestyle blogger, that’s it, no racial labels!

I want to be accepted by both black and white, not majority favorited by one race. Yes I’m black and yes I may have a bit of white in me too, but that has nothing to do with it.

(I’m sure you’re all like, yeah right, okay bi-racial girl with issues! Lol)

But I grew up in NYC, so I’m used to being around both races, (even if most of the white folks I know “act black”) why would I stop that now just because the blogging world isn’t overpopulated with black folks?  I went to a high school where my classes were mixed – Spanish, Asians, Blacks, Whites, etc! Hell, every school I went to was like that and I want it to stay that way!

I want people to read my blog because they agree (or disagree) with my opinions and enjoy the way I do event recaps and reviews, because they enjoy reading what I write, not because I’m a black girl who’s blogging and they think they should support me just because I’m black.

At first I didn’t want to go to the L’Oreal Paris #LiveInColor event (which u can read about here) because I KNEW it would be MAINLY white folks, but then I realized – I like music and fashion why shouldn’t I go? So what if I’m the only black people there? As long as I enjoy it that should be enough, right? If I can’t talk to a couple of people while I’m there it won’t be because they’re white it’ll be bc I was too damn shy to open my mouth. (Lol) I want to be able to mix in with the white folks too! Not stand in a corner with a group of black folks and segregate myself.

Yes, I LOVE my black communities! But I do still need the diversity! The same way I go to a white folk event and think “OMG yes a black person is here” is the same way I’m in these communities full of black folks thinking “OMG yes there’s a white person here!”

Honestly to me it’s just about being around a diverse group of people. I want to be a brand that everyone likes not just one community. A brand that everyone can relate to and say yeah, I’ve had that happen too or yeah, I’ve felt like that as well!

I don’t even know why I’m ranting like this but it’s been coming for awhile. (Lol) Glad I finally got this all out though. So now that you guys are finished rolling ya eyes and staring at your computers/tablets/phones like this girl cray cray what do you think? (Lol) Leave a comment below and let me know.

sanaa brooks signature

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Shauntee says:

    I understand where you’re coming from. I’ve gotten use to being the only Black/African-American in certain places. In fact, I’m the only African-American at my company and have been for the last 10 years; I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing! When I write, I write for anyone who wants to read what I have to say. I would like to think that my blog is culturally diverse and that everyone could relate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      I mean it’s bad that they haven’t hired any other blacks, but it’s also good because YOU were able to get passed that. Maybe they just couldn’t find anyone or others were turned off because there were no other blacks. Idk? Lol

      Thanks for commenting though! 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  2. I think I get where you’re coming from and I agree with this:
    “I want people to read my blog because they agree (or disagree) with my opinions and enjoy the way I do event recaps and reviews, because they enjoy reading what I write, not because I’m a black girl who’s blogging and they think they should support me just because I’m black.”

    I named my blog as such because through my blog I wanted to demonstrate that black women have rich and varied experiences, more than the stereotypes we’re inundated with by the media. Just as non-black bloggers have a diversity of interests, so do we and we shouldn’t be pigeonholed because of our skin color.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Exactly!

      I love your blog by the way! 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  3. A Sparkle says:

    I agree with what you’ve said.. I don’t want to just be a Black blogger, only talking to Black ppl.. I am a person that is so much more than just my color and I want to reach whoever likes my writing and feels like they’re apart of my tribe.. I think you should be able to write about whatever you want from whatever perspective that is.. Glad you brought up this conversation! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Thanks so much! I was really beginning to feel like I was the only one so I had to rant. Lol

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  4. DevonYoung says:

    I totally agree with you here on this one. I mean it’s great to connect with my people, especially with what is going on in this country, but if I restrict myself to just one group of people specifically, then how would I be better than those who choose to separate themselves because of hate. Now don’t get me wrong, my site will always lean towards black unity and uplifting my people, but I don’t want to be stereotyped as such when I do so much more. Kudos to you and this post for thinking bigger picture.

    ColdKnowledge.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  5. Danyelle says:

    I appreciate your rant! Of course, with being identified as a “black girl blogging” comes a sense of community and familiarity. That’s cool! But, I think its also important to have a diverse audience/readership. The color of your skin in no way at all defines who you are. With my blog, I just want to reach people. Anyone that will read. He/she doesn’t have a skin color!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Thanks so much for the comment! I agree! 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

