Nail Polish That Peels Off, Say What? My Review Of Sally Hansen’s Peel Off Base Coat

A couple of weeks ago, I made a trip to target and bought Sally Hansen’s Peel Off Base Coat, thinking it was absolutely too cool to be true!

(Well I was right!)

So here’s what happened …

First, I put a “thick” layer of the base coat on, as it says to do on the bottle.

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

But as you can see from the photo above, that didn’t go to well!

The base coat kept sliding off of my fingers, so I decided to wipe it off, and redo it.

But it wasn’t that easy to “wipe” off.

I seriously think this thing has glue in it, because when I tried to remove it, it looked like I was trying to rub dried up glue off my hands.

(Remember when we were little and did that for fun? Yeah, that’s what it reminded me of.)

Here’s what it looks like the second time around, after making sure to keep my hands very bery still! (Haven’t used that phrase in forever people! OMG! Lol)

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

Then I had to wait for it to dry, which felt like forever! But this is what it looks like after it’s completely dry.

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

Then I put on my first coat of nail polish. (Excuse the mess!)

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

After that, I put on my Sally Hansen No Chip Top Coat, which honestly isn’t even worth mentioning, other than saying that it didn’t work!

(Not much surprise there though, huh?)

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

So after ALL that work, my “manicure” didn’t even last a freaking day! The nail polish chipped the very next day, and since the base coat allows you to peel everything off, the nail polish started to peel off. OMG, was I upset!

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

As the nail polish chips, you can see the base coat underneath and it’s just weird. I take lots of hot showers, so every time I took a shower, the base coat would sort of melt a bit, and turn white  and gluey again. (UGH!)

When you apply it, the whole damn house just smells like glue.

(Okay, maybe not the WHOLE house, but who wants to apply nail polish and smell glue? Not I says the cat! Lol)

The fact that you have to keep very still while doing this, allows you to only be able to do one hand at a time, so you can allow the first hand to dry before applying the base coat to the second hand. (Meaning it takes a really long time to just get a base coat on, let alone the rest of the manicure!) Which also means you probably shouldn’t do this 10 minutes before going out!

However, the nail polish did actually PEEL OFF.

Too bad, it didn’t really work the way I thought it would!

This is what it looked like, after I attempted to peel off the nail polish.

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

You can’t just peel it off in one shot, you basically have to scrape it off with your nail, the same way they take tips off with a metro card in the nail salon. I even took a hot shower, thinking that it would help since it makes it softer, but nope! I basically just scraped everything off, instead of “peeling” it off.

And this is the mess I made scraping the nail polish off. Not cute at all!

Sanaa Brooks Sally Hansen Peel Off Base Coat Review Photos

So as you can see, this didn’t turn out as good as I thought it would. I don’t even know what I should do with the rest of the freaking nail polish, since I have a whole bottle left!

(This reminds me why I don’t buy products to just test them out, I hate wasting money!)

And I’m pretty sure this thing was about 10 bucks! (Ugh!)

What do you guys think? Is it worth it? What should I do with the rest of it, send it back? (Lol) Leave a comment below and let me know.

sanaa brooks signature

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Alisha says:

    I think that base coat is only good for people doing swatches and want to remove without having keep use remover. And don’t get me started on no chip polish. Smh but I did have good luck with a brand I got at whole Foods and it was $4.99 and they had a $3 off coupon!!! Mineral fusion was the name and it did good without a top coat. I added a top coat next time and it chipped.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      LMAO @ the fact that adding a top coat screwed up the no chip.

      But hmm, maybe so? Either way, too hard to use lol Too much work. Sigh! I was SO hoping it would be good! 😦

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  2. Well you just spared me from experimenting with this base coat! Sorry this didn’t work for you but I’m glad you gave us the real-deal tea! #BLMGirl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      No problem at all! 🙂

      (I also saved you about ten bucks lol)

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  3. staciesayzso says:

    Hmm, I would buy this for my nail swatches. That’s actually a great idea. And good for glitter polish removal too. #blmgirl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Definitely would be great for both! I have some glitter nail polish too, I’m definitely going to try it out! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

