Curl Centric’s Owner, Akirashanti Byrd, Talks About Her New Coloring Book For Curly Hair Girls

So on Thursday, I introduced you guys to Curl Centric’s Curly Kids Coloring Book and now, just as promised, I’m back with my interview with the owner and co blogger of Curl Centric, Akirashanti Byrd.

(If you missed Thursday’s post and you have no clue as to what coloring book I’m even talking about, you can always read about it here.)

Here’s the interview you guys!

Sanaa Brooks: What made you want to make a coloring book dedicated to curly hair girls?

Akirashanti Byrd: My youngest daughter is the inspiration behind the coloring book. When the idea of the coloring book first came up, I wanted to surround my daughter with images that were relevant and relatable to her.

Sanaa: Why a coloring book? Couldn’t you have also just wrote a blog series or made a video about this topic? 

Ak: Of course! As a blogger, blogging is always an option, if not [our] 1st choice. Although the Curly Kids Coloring Book is fluid for all ages, the little girl that is my daughter’s age is probably not online reading Curl Centric, but they are using crayons and color pencils! Also, a blog post would not have connected us! I [also] wanted [my daughter] to have something to help her see natural hair in a positive way, because she is so crafty and creative, a coloring book was fitting for her.

Sanaa: What message are you looking to send to little girls with your new Curly Kids coloring book? 

Ak: The one thing I want little [girls] to take away is [that] there is nothing wrong with [your] hair and there are curly girls all around the world.

Sanaa: As a parent myself who has natural curly hair, and a daughter who will have the same. How can parents reinforce that curly hair is beautiful?

Ak: One immediate action a parent can take to reinforce that curly hair is beautiful is to be mindful about what they say about the child’s hair and hair that looks like theirs. Make the time spent combing their child’s hair special. Relax in the moment and talk about the beatitudes of her hair. Also, when they see someone’s hair that looks like the child’s hair, speak of the hair in high regards.

Sanaa: When did YOU become fully aware of your curly hair and how beautiful it is?

Ak: I became fully aware that my hair and hair that looked like mine was beautiful in 2009. This is when I learned to redefine beautiful to include attributes of my hair.

Sanaa: Have you seen the documentary, “Good Hair”? Do you believe there is such a thing as good hair or bad hair?

Ak: Yes, I watched the documentary and I believe we all have good hair, we just do bad things to it. Good is so subjective. What’s good for one can be devastating to another and vise versa.

Sanaa: Have you ever straightened, permed or relaxed your hair? What were the results? How did these treatments make you feel about your natural hair? 

Ak: My last relaxer was January 2007 and the last time I had my hair straighten was September 2009. The results were ok, my [hair] stayed straight for about 2 weeks. However, when I washed my hair, fully expecting my curls to snap back at the first sign of humidity and water, they hesitated. To think that my hair could possibly have any degree of heat damage caused undue stress and it wasn’t worth it for me.

Sanaa: Do you have any tips for girls that are having a hard time loving their natural curls? 

Ak: Start having positive conversations with yourself about your natural curls. Write down one positive fact about your hair, post it somewhere, like your bathroom. Every morning when you see it, think about that positive fact when you brush your teeth. This exercise helps you to recognize and remember [the] positives about our hair. You have to remember that your hair is all the hair that you have. As long as factories continue to make wigs and hair extensions, there will always be options. However, what you are producing is top of the line and one of a kind!

Sanaa: Are there any particular hairstyles or hair products that you love and would recommend for girls with curly hair?

Ak: My hair would be nothing without protein treatments. Simply learning what my moisture to protein ratio is has hands down been a pivotal point in my natural hair journey. When it comes to products, I [am] a huge [supporter] of small businesses.

Sanaa: Tell us a bit more about your Curly Kids coloring book! What does it include? Where can we purchase it?

Ak: The Curly Kids Coloring Book contains more than 30 coloring pages for little girls. The coloring book features little girls wearing a variety of curly hairstyles, including buns, puffs, braids, afros (or low styles), updos, twists-outs, and bantu-knots.

The coloring book can be purchased here.

So there you have it you guys! What do you think?

I’d like to thank Akirashanti for allowing me to interview her and for giving me the opportunity to help her spread the word about this amazing new coloring book via the Be Curl Centric Virtual Blog Tour.

If you haven’t already, you can check out her new coloring book here. As always, if you have anything to say at all on this matter, please leave a comment below and let me know.

sanaa brooks signature

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Fabulous!! These type of books are so necessary!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Yes indeed! 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  2. Caity says:

    I’m so glad Kira came up with this idea, young curly girls definitely need to know how special their hair is #becurlcentric

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      I agree! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting and showing support!

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

  3. Joanna says:

    I’m definitely supporting this. My niece loves to color.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Yay! So glad you like it! 🙂

      Let me know how she likes it if you can!

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

