Have You Heard About Curl Centric’s New Coloring Book For Curly Hair Girls?

Isn’t it funny how I found this photo on Facebook, posted from Obvious Magazine, just when I was about to start drafting this blog post?

curly hair girl problems

I swear this is what it felt like when I was little having my mom braid my hair, but now that I’m older and I can do my own hair, I no longer have to suffer. I’ve chosen the easy way (aka the lazy way) out, which is why you’ll see me rocking my natural curls 90% of the time. Since all I have to do is wash it and let it air dry!

But not a lot of women or girls see their natural hair as the easy way out. A lot of women actually think it’s the opposite!

(And after having a full blown conversation with a young woman around my age in Target with a friend of mine about how “bad” her hair was and how she wished she had my “good” hair, I can say first hand that not everyone likes their natural curls!)

So today, I am happy to say that I have jumped on the natural hair bandwagon and I am participating in Curl Centric’s Be Curl Centric Blog Tour to help spread the word about Curl Centric’s new Curly Kids Coloring Book!

Curl Centric has created a new coloring book to give children a positive portrayal of curly haired people, so they don’t feel isolated by one of their defining features. Which I believe is absolutely great! (Especially in a world today where young women are always copying what they see.)

“It is important for little girls with textured hair to see images that look like them. The book features more than thirty different images, including action shots, mermaids, princesses and ballerinas. The girls in the coloring books have also arranged their hair in a variety of styles that range from cornrow braids, puffs, two strand twists, bantu knots, wash and gos, locs and many more, to show girls with curly hair the amazing potential their hair has to be defined and redefined.” – Curl Centric

Here are a couple of pages from the actual coloring book.

Curl Centric Curly Kids Coloring Book Page
I love this one! Looks just like me dontcha think? Lol
Curl Centric Curly Kids Coloring Book Page
Does she look like anyone YOU know? I bet she does!
Curl Centric Curly Kids Coloring Book Page
This is what my sister’s hair looks like sometimes!
Curl Centric Curly Kids Coloring Book Page
A curly short hair mermaid? Who would have thought!

If you like what you see, and you’re interested in purchasing a coloring book for yourself or someone you know, click on the photo below !

 And if you’d like to know more about Curl Centric’s Curly Kids Coloring Book, then you’re in luck! I’ll be interviewing Curl Centric’s owner and co-blogger, Akirashanti Byrd in the next day or two and I will be posting our interview on May 30th! So stay tuned for more!

But in the mean time, why don’t you go take another look at the coloring book and start counting how many you’ll need! (Lol) I know you know someone with a girl that would love this! So let’s help Curl Centric spread the word!

Click To Tweet: What do YOU think about a coloring book for curly hair girls? #BeCurlCentric Tour #GreatIdea

So what do you think about Curl Centric’s new coloring book dedicated to curly hair curls? Leave a comment below and let me know!

sanaa brooks signature

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

