I Had This At … The Smoke Joint!

So last week, I went out with a friend of mine and after walking around looking for a place to eat, we finally settled on The Smoke Joint. After having to move out of the doorway at least 5 times (while we were trying to look at the menu and figure out if they had alcohol … don’t judge us, lol) we figured this place must be pretty popular for a good reason.

When we got inside, we were seated quickly, after given a choice of where we’d like to sit. The first thing that got my attention was the decor, which consisted of small wooden tables, and then I noticed that the cups were facing downward. (Pretty, but don’t they know that people drink out of these cups? How clean are these tables?)

i had this at - the smoke joint
Our drinks, L-R: mango margarita (not spicy) & some sort of lemonade? I don’t remember lol

After ordering our drinks and food, someone brought out my friends’ drink, and told me that mine would be out shortly. (I found it a bit weird that you would serve one drink, and then go back for the other, instead of just waiting and serving both at the same time, but I didn’t mind the wait.) Don’t ask me what my drink was called, because I definitely don’t remember! (Lol) However, I did order the Brooklyn Wings (sweet and spicy), the Mac & Cheese and the Spicy French Fries to eat.

i had this at - the smoke joint
L-R: Joint Dog with Pulled Pork, Potato Salad, Brooklyn Wings, Spicy French Fries, Mac & Cheese

Although the food tasted good, nothing and I mean absolutely nothing was spicy! Not the wings or the french fries, which were apparently just dusted with some sort of BBQ powder? Now I’m a big fan of hot sauce and since my folks are from the Caribbean, I know what spicy is, so I was very disappointed when I realized that neither the wings or fries were spicy. However, the Mac & Cheese was pretty good, and even though the drink was a bit too tart for me to enjoy it, I finished it anyway.

I didn’t even realize how well known this restaurant was until I googled it just to find a better photo of the outside and the menu. But I don’t really see what all the fuss is about. The food looks way better than it tastes! But since it wasn’t absolutely disgusting, I guess it wasn’t that bad, because I’m pretty sure it could have been a lot worse. They also had a really good playlist going, so I did enjoy my time there.

Have you ever visited The Smoke Joint? If so, leave a comment below and let me know!

sanaa brooks signature

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Drea says:

    Considering that The Smoke Joint is a BBQ joint, one would think they’d use special sauces and spices to differentiate their foods from other restaurants that sell BBQ. Guess not. Those wings do look delicious though. P.S. I’m with you on the cups facing downward on the table; I would’ve had questions for my waiter…

    Drea
    thedreadaily.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Girl I didn’t touch that water until I got a straw lol I’m always skeptical for some reason. But yeah there were like two “sauces” on the table & we couldn’t figure out what the hell they were I just thought it was supposed to be BBQ & Hot Sauce lmao The food was good, I just feel like they need different names or something because you think you’re getting one thing and then you don’t get it and you’re left sitting there like, “huh?”. Sigh!

      ~ Sanaa

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I went there years ago back when it just opened and I was not impressed. I LOVE bbq… but the meat was way too smoky. Like, second hand smoke smoky. I’d be willing to try it again to see if anything has changed.

    I hate it when I order something spicy and it’s just not… I think a lot of stuff that’s usually spicy in other countries is watered down here in the states because people’s taste buds (here) are used to bland flavors.

    Oh! You should give Brooklyn Moon (which is right around the corner) a try!

    Alissa Nichole
    originallyremixed.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      The chicken was good just .. not spicy! (Or sweet! I was so upset lol But sooo hungry!)

      & Yeah I’ve noticed that nothing here in the US is spicy unless it was made by Caribbean ppl lol

      Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂 We’re trying not to spend money right now but we definitely will! I’m gonna text my friend right now so she can remind me next month lol

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

