The 10 Books I Read (And Actually Enjoyed) In 2014

I always loved reading, but before last year aka 2014, I didn’t really read much. I guess I kind of put it on hold… for a very long time. However, last year I decided to start reading again; not because I needed something to blog about, not because it was required for school, but for my own enjoyment.

(Crazy right? I know!)

Once I started reading again, I honestly couldn’t remember why I had stopped in the first place. Hell if my iPad wasn’t dead right now, I’d probably be reading instead of writing this blog post. But since it is, I’ve decided to share with you all the books I read last year that I actually enjoyed.

And here they are …

The Man in 3B By Carl Weber

the man in 3b by carl weber

I actually saw this book advertised in the train, maybe a year or two ago, and I’ve always wanted to read it. I finally got to last year, and boy was it good!

What I currently remember reading about: the sexy man that lives in apt 3B, women that gossip on the stoop, a man who no longer appreciates his wife, a mystery fire started by someone you’d never guess, a boy that comes out of the closet, drugs.

Click here if you’d like to read my full review of this book.

The Fifty Shades Triology By E. L. James

Fifty-Shades-Covers

First of all, don’t judge me on this one. (Lol) There was actually a really good story line behind this trilogy. (I actually got tired of all the sex scenes after awhile, because I was so anxious to find out what was really wrong with him.) But the ending was a little disappointing.

What I currently remember reading about: sex, sex, sex, a man with issues, sex in an elevator, cool cars, helicopter rides, an art gallery, a crazy ex boss with an agenda, people almost dying, the lady that turned him into a sex addict, the woman that changed him.

Click here if you’d like to read my full review of this trilogy.

The Help By Kathryn Stockett

the help

So I still haven’t seen this movie, however I read this book with the intentions of actually watching it. I was sort of shocked at how good it really was, although I was disappointed in the end.

What I currently remember reading about: women maids, black women who worked for white families, black women who decided to write a book that could get them killed, women that could cook their butts off, an abusive relationship, a white woman who didn’t treat her black maid as a maid but more as a friend.

Click here if you’d like to read my full review of this book.

White Girl Problems By Babe Walker

white girl problems

So this book is exactly about what the title says it’s about. When I first start reading it I was honestly just reading it because it was stupid, and I didn’t think it could get worse! But then I realized there was actually a story line behind it, and that it wasn’t just some random white girl complaining! Hey, white folks have problems too, right? (Even if they are rich!)

What I currently remember reading about: white girl complaining about shopping addiction, personal trainer using sex as a “workout” (literally), white girl going to therapy, white girl having major issues, frienemies, white girl who grew up without a mother, drinking, parties.

Click here if you’d like to read my full review of this book.

Crazy Rich Asians By Kevin Kwan

crazy rich asians

This book is definitely one you guys should read! The title actually can be taken two different ways, and ironically both ways fit the characters perfectly.

What I currently remember reading about: crazy asians, rich asians, a controlling mother, a wedding, women that could afford designer clothing and handbags buying knock offs, a not so rich asian girl who almost everyone hated, people plotting against others, drama.

The Maze Runner Trilogy By James Dashner

mazerunnerseries

I kid you not, I finished this trilogy in less than a week it was so good. I started reading The Maze Runner, so I could watch the movie (which I still haven’t seen, ugh) and then I couldn’t stop.

What I currently remember reading about: grievers, a maze, people that could talk to each other in their heads, betrayal, kids dying, a disease, a community of kids built by kids and ran by kids, a ball of metal that ate someones head off, heat hot enough to burn your skin off, thunderstorms that killed kids.

Click here if you’d like to read my full review of this trilogy.

So there you have it! I read a couple of other books last year, but honestly, they weren’t that great. Half of them I didn’t even finish.

But I do plan on making a new list of books to read for 2015 and I’m hoping to finally start a book club. So if you have any books you’d like to suggest, or would like to be a part of my book club (virtual of course) email me at sanaabrooksblog@gmail.com or leave a comment below and let me know.

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 6.38.52 PM

Leave a Reply

