Album Review: The London Sessions By Mary J Blige

Album Review: A+

mary j blige the london sessions album cover art

(Click the photo to purchase The London Sessions on iTunes.)

I swear I always forget what real music sounds like because of mainstream music and everything that plays on the radio, but I’m so glad for artists like Mary who remind me what music really sounds like. I’m blown away by how great these songs sound and I can’t wait until the day comes where I can release a song that I’ve mixed that sounds this damn good!

Here’s a preview of what her album will sound like:

Her first song on this album is called “Therapy” and it talks about how she’d rather go to therapy twice a day instead of being alone and unhappy. But it’s the production on this song that blows me away. Usually I can find at least one thing to complain about, but there’s no complaints here at all.

The next song on her album is called “Doubt” and I guess the D stands for dope, because that’s what this song is! I can’t lie, this song is motivation for me as an aspiring mix engineer. I can only hope that I’ll be this great one day! It starts off all nice and calm, and then the beat kicks in after awhile and I kid you not, I started bumping to it without even realizing it. This is real music!

Okay for her next song, “Not Loving You“, I’m probably going to get a little too personal, but what ever, this is my blog right? The first time I listened to this song, by the time it was done, I was thinking about every ex that I honestly truly cared about. This song speaks volumes! It will have you in your feelings people! It sure has gotten to me today. I can totally see this song in a movie. The reverb in this song makes it 10 times more intense. So shout out to my exes, this one is for you and to my future boyfriend because, “There’s only so much I can do if you’re not loving you.

Mary J Blige arrives at RAK studios in St John's Wood, London, where she is recording her new album.
Mary J Blige at RAK studios in London. Doesn’t she look fabulous?

I swear I’m jealous of everyone who produced this next song called, “When You’re Gone, the space they recorded this song in is amazing! (It’s either that or they got the altiverb plugin man! Lol) Either way, this is great and then the strings come in and it’s like, I don’t know, floating on air? (Is that too much? Lol) I’m a sucker for instruments, so yeah.

Right Now” is so freaking dope man! It sounds like some song you’d play at a club late at night, an hour or two before the party is over. (Lol. I don’t know man, I’m not into trap and normal “club” shit, like everyone else in NYC, so this is club music for me.) But what I love about this song is that the kick is knocking! But it doesn’t over power anything! I’m definitely taking notes! I need to know how they got this kick to stand out but still fit in. I can only imagine what this would sound like on real speakers. (Not these half broken headphones I got from school.)

I watched the video as well, but as usual, I’m disappointed. (I hate freaking music videos! Ugh) The video doesn’t do this song justice! To me this song sounds like something is about to go down, and through out the whole song I just keep waiting for something to happen and it never does. But the song is still amazing.

Here’s the video:

And then Mary hits us with another club banger!

Her next song on the album is called, “My Loving” and yes this is my absolute favorite. This shit took this whole album to a whole new level! We just went from “oh this is cool” to “oh shit this shit is nice“. Mary, ain’t nothing better than this track girl! Great song! I danced through the whole damn thing. (While siting on my bed under the covers. Lol.)

Damn man, I thought Tank’s album was dope until I heard this one! I guess this is what happens when you go to London, huh? (Lol)

Her next song, “Long Hard Look” mentions that “the grass is never greener on the other side“, and I’m pretty sure a lot of people can agree with that statement. And if that doesn’t speak to you, then maybe “Whole Damn Year” will. With poetic lyrics such as the ones below, this song definitely will touch you.

See winter took most of my heart

And Spring punched me right in the stomach

Summer came looking for blood

And by autumn, I was left with nothing

It took a whole damn year to repair my body

mary j blige the london sessions

Okay so the last four songs on this album are, “Nobody But You“, “Pick Me Up“, “Follow” and “Worth My Time” and they’re all great! After awhile the effects in “Nobody But You” gets a little annoying, but it’s not that bad, it may be different in speakers. “Pick Me Up” is another club song in my eyes. (I mean ears? Lol) The transition between “Pick Me Up” and “Follow” is so damn smooth, I never saw it coming! And if “Follow” sounds like it was produced by Disclosure, you’re not crazy, you’re right, because it was!

Mary ends her album with, “Worth My Time” and it’s great. Mary sings, “And I won’t give up if you make it worth my time! We’re approaching this wrong and it isn’t enough to get by and I wanna stay.” It’s like she’s telling her fans she won’t give up on then as long as they don’t give up on her.

My absolute fav songs are:

1. My Loving

2. Right Now

3. Pick Me Up

So if you’ve made it all the way through this review, then I’m sure you’ll be able to agree with me when I say that you should go out and get this album on Dec 2nd! You can also buy a couple of the songs or pre-order the album now on iTunes or Amazon. And if my reviews of each song isn’t enough to persuade you to go out and get this album, just keep in mind that this whole album was recorded in 3 weeks! Now you may not think that’s a big deal, but trust me it is! But I guess, as every artist should do, Mary went to London knowing what she wanted to do and she got it done!

So to end this review, here’s 10 things you should know about The London Sessions:

(Click the photo to enlarge it.)

10 things you should know about The London Sessions album by mary j blige

Thanks for reading!

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 6.38.52 PMNote:

I participated in the Mary J Blige The London Sessions album review program as a member of the bLink Marketing Network.

I was provided with a free album to review, but all opinions are my own.

Comments submitted may be displayed on other websites owned by the sponsoring brand.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Chrissie says:

    Loving this song by Mary J! she never disappoints!

    xo
    Chrissie
    lipstickvillain.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      Which song are you talking about because the whole album is good! Lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

