This Year Sesame Street Comes To The New York Public Library

So imagine to my surprise when I decided to look online for a couple of non-Halloween activities to take my two year old daughter to this month and found out that there’s a new Sesame Street exhibit at the New York Public Library at Lincoln Center. Just like most of you, I grew up watching Sesame Street, and currently my daughter is doing the exact same thing. (Literally, she’s watching the show right now.) I’ve also had the pleasure of going to Sesame Place when I was little, but since money is practically non-existent right now and Sesame Place is so far away, there’s no possible way I could take my daughter there this year.

Mommypoppings.com says the new Sesame Street exhibit is:

“A collaboration between the NYPL branch and Sesame Workshop. The jam-packed retrospective features scripts, storyboards, designs, animation cels, photographs, blueprints and other behind-the-scenes artifacts that mostly appeal to adults. But there are also fun and interactive highlights for families, like a cute play area, vintage and contemporary clips, and great photo ops with more than 20 Muppets. The exhibit, which is FREE, is also a great way for kids to get a glimpse at what NYC and Sesame Street looked like back in the day—they’ve both changed a lot.”

So it may be an understatement to say that I’m very excited about this new exhibit! It runs until Jan 30, 2015, so you have plenty of time to take the kids for a visit. (And if you don’t have kids, then as a parent myself, I think this a great excuse to borrow someone’s kid, I mean babysit for a weekend, so they can enjoy some time off.) And if you do go, I’d love to hear about your experiences and photos are always welcomed!

Leave a Reply

