Why Don’t Women Wear Actual Clothes Anymore?

It’s getting hot in here … (so hot)! 

Excuse me but I couldn’t help but sing as I write this post because the line that comes right after, “so take off all your clothes” seems to be what most women are doing, right before they grab their keys and smartphones to leave their homes. I mean, honestly, that’s what it looks like right now in NYC, and this seems to be the new trend because everyone is doing it. It doesn’t matter how warm it is outside, as long as there are a few rays of sunshine outside, women seem to leave their actual clothes at home. Instead they wear crop tops (or belly shirts) and daisy dukes (you know the shorts that leave nothing unexposed), while their actual clothes keep their beds warm.

rihanna shorts

I have nothing against women wearing shorts or crop tops outside in public, but honestly, it hasn’t really been that hot yet. I’m pretty scared to see what they’ll be wearing when it hits 100 degrees! But the real question isn’t what they’ll be wearing when it gets hot, it’s WHY they’re wearing what they’re wearing when it gets hot. Why do women feel that it’s socially acceptable to go outside with barely any clothes on and when does the excuse “it’s hot” become unacceptable?

jessica-simpson-dukes-of-hazzard-lg

Does the way women dress these days have anything to do with the men they’re interested in or how these men view them when they’re dressed this way? As you can see, I have more questions than answers myself, as I still can’t figure out the reasoning behind this matter. But all I’m trying to say is that, the same way women complain about the way men dress, is the same way men should be complaining about the way women are dressing these days. But then again, this is just one of those double standards we all got used to.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Drew says:

    Women have always been told and or ridiculed about what to wear and how to wear it. So fuck it,let them wear what they want to wear and not shame them for it.

    Like

  2. J U S T I C E says:

    Why is what they wear any of your business? And I don’t see how this is a double standard at all like you state. I’ve never heard anyone complain about the way men dress and I only hear about people complaining about the way some women dress, and I hear it all the time. THAT is the double standard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sanaa Brooks says:

      I complain about the way men dress all the time, I just never got around to publishing the post on that topic.

      But then again I know more well dressed men than I do women. That’s my issue. (But that may also be because I only hang around certain people?)

      All I’m saying is that if women can complain about men sagging all the time, then men should complain about women as well, but they won’t because they like seeing women expose themselves in public.

      Thanks for commenting though. 🙂

      ~ Sanaa

      Like

Leave a Reply

